Return to You

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Artist: Duy Huynh

The goddess who I know from the start

the one who keeps me to her dew-fragranced heart

the one who takes me in her mighty nimble arms

the one who shows me the way to my sun…

the one who gave me life in death

who stood by me when I ran for shade

who was by my side when I looked over the cliff,

you took the risk for me.

you were always there.. I know this now…

I walked a long way before I returned to you,

my way wound and wound before I understood thee.

You were always there, my love, inside of me,

why did I take such a time to see you though?

I don’t know whenever I think back now

on what ways was I wandering out,

why didn’t I see my mother was there,

all the time offering me her strength and care.

How many winded roads did I walk on and on?

How many sad moments I kept trudging along?

How many times I thought about the things that didn’t matter?

How much time did I need to see you were there?

Mother, the merciful, the loving, the forever one,

Mother, who created me and my world,

I ask you to always be in my thoughts,

to never let me forget your will is my lot,

to let me stand strong just like you have always done,

to be a warrior in life’s many twist and turns,

to stand tall on my legs,

to live in your grace,

to roar to be heard,

to smile when its hard,

to accept all that is sad and bad,

as parts of all that is good and glad.

To understand life is all that is true,

the dark, light, day and night,

And I will have to make it through.

There are no shortcuts

There are no winding ways

Everything is exactly how it was made.

My life will be smooth and effortless and worth

Only if I know you are there in my heart.

Mother, make me strong as your lean and strong hands

Mother, give me love in my heart for everyone,

Never let me hate even the one who hurt me bad…

Let me always understand, let me always see,

Let me be at ease, let me just be.

Let me never lose my humility, my hope,

Let me always live in your dreams as your own.

Let me know how you are the start and ending dot

Let me see what’s true and all that is not.

Leave a Reply

